

LINGUISTIC SOCIETY OF INDIA c/o Deccan College, Post Graduate and Research Institute, Pune-411006

LSI/Sec./2024-26/03 Dated: 17-09-2024

A meeting of the Executive Committee (EC) of the LSI (2024-26) was held on **01.09.2024** at 11:00 am through virtual mode.

The following members were present:

(1) Prof. M. J. Warsi (President, LSI), (2) Dr. Abhinav Kumar Mishra (Secretary, LSI), (3) Dr. Sunandan Kumar Sen (Joint Secretary, LSI), (4) Dr. Khushboo Parghi (Joint Secretary, LSI), (5) Prof. Gautam Sengupta (Trustee, LSI), EC Working Members: (6) Prof. Adil Amin Kak, (7) Dr. Bipasha Patgiri, (8) Dr. Niranjan Uppoor, (9) Dr. Chaithra Puttaswamy, (10) Dr. C S Swathi, (11) Dr. Suman Preet Virk, (12) Dr. Sundarabalu S. (13) Prof. Koppaka Rajyarama, (14) Prof. Aejaz Mohd Sheikh (Editor, IL), Members, Publication Committee as Special Invitees (15) Dr. Kakoli Dey (EC-Member), (16) Prof. Shobha Satyanath (Past Vice President, Ex-Officio member)

The following members could not attend the meeting:

Prof. Thiruvalluvan V. (Vice President, LSI), Prof. Ashok Thorat (Trustee, LSI), Dr. Mendem Bapuji (EC-Member), Dr. Saralin A. Lyngdoh (EC-Member), Dr. Mimi K. Ezung (EC-Member), Dr. Thennarasu Sakkan, Dr. Nazrin B Laskar, Prof. G. Uma Maheshwar Rao (Past President, Ex-Officio member),

Before taking up the agenda items, Dr. Abhinav K. Mishra, Secretary, LSI, requested the President-LSI, Prof. M. J. Warsi, to call the meeting in order.

On initiating the meeting, the President LSI welcomed the EC members, and thereafter, the following agenda items were taken up for consideration:

Item No. I: Confirmation of the minutes of the last EC-meeting held on 07.04.2024.

The minutes of the last LSI-EC meeting held on 07.04.2024 were confirmed.

Item No. II: To consider the guidelines for LSI Fellows prepared by the subcommittee:

Secretary LSI as the convener of the sub-committee appraised the house about the progress made so far. He informed the house the two meetings of the sub-committee were held and detailed guidelines (draft) were prepared. Then he briefed the house about the guidelines for LSI Fellows as prepared by the subcommittee. After the detailed deliberations the guidelines were approved by the EC members and it was decided that the guidelines would be placed before the GBM to be held during the

upcoming 'ICOLSI-46' at University of Kashmir, Srinagar before inviting the nominations for LSI Fellows. It was also decided to place the guidelines on the LSI website so the members can also have look before placing it in the GBM during ICOLSI-46.

Item No. III. To consider the report of the subcommittee headed by Prof. Rajyarama about the institutions where Linguistics is taught at undergraduate and post graduate level at Indian Universities:

Prof. Rajyarama, Chairperson of the sub-committee informed the EC members about the progress made so far. President, LSI and EC members felt happy and congratulated **Prof. Koppaka Rajyarama** and her entire team for preparing a detailed list of institutions where Linguistics is being taught at undergraduate and post-graduate level. She was also requested to draft a letter to be sent along with the lists of institutions to the apex educational bodies like UPSC, UGC, and Ministry of Education to include Linguistics as a subject in its curriculum.

Item No. IV. To consider the request of the Director, ICOLSI-46 for financial support:

The President, LSI informed the house about the request received for financial support by the organizer of the ICOLSI-46 for hosting the LSI conference as they haven't received the sufficient financial support from other funding agencies.

The request for financial support was discussed at length and keeping everything in consideration, the EC agreed to sanction a grant of Rs. 1 Lakh (one lakh only) including the expenses for organizing the Radha Bai Katre Memorial Lecture during 'ICOLSI-46'.

In the end, the President LSI, Prof. M. J. Warsi, proposed a vote of thanks to the members for their meaningful participation in the deliberations through virtual mode and declared the meeting closed.

Prof. Abhinay Kumar Mishra

Secretary, Linguistic Society of India (2024-26)

secretaryil@gmail.com